Back to all posts

Two New Members Named to Bluegrass Care Navigators Board

Bluegrass Care Navigators is pleased to announce the addition of two new members to its governing board for 2021. John Austin and David Royse began their three-year appointments to the Board of Directors earlier this month. In addition, Richard Hopgood, board member and attorney with Valvoline Inc., will serve as the chairperson for the board in 2021.

John Austin comes to the board as the Senior Vice President of the Lexington Market at First State Bank, and previously the Vice President/Market Leader for BB&T, managing the main branches in Winchester and Irvine, Kentucky. He is a Leadership Central Kentucky graduate and served on the Kentucky Technical School Advisory Board, Clark County Partners in Education and the Winchester Clark County Chamber of Commerce where he was also the Board Chair for two years.

David Royse, a partner with the law firm of Ransdell, Roach, Royse PLLC, has handled major litigation for many of Kentucky’s top businesses and has represented individuals and families in serious injury and wrongful death cases. Royse was appointed as Plantiffs’ Liaison Counsel for the Plantiffs’ Steering committee in the Comair 5191 litigation. He has been appointed by two Governors to serve as a Special Justice on the Kentucky Supreme Court. He is former Chairman of the Board of Junior Achievement and has served in a number of civic leadership positions in Lexington and his hometown of Nicholasville, where he resides with his wife Carolyn and his son Ben, a junior at LCA.

Hopgood assumed the chairperson role from Shannon Arvin, who continues to serve on the board as Past Chair. Hopgood is an attorney with Valvoline, Inc., where he has practiced for the past 2 years. Previously, Richard was a member of the law firm of Frost Brown Todd, LLC and Wyatt Tarrant & Combs, LLP. He was also a Board member of Bluegrass Airport from 2008-2016 and served as Chair from 2011-2013.

The nonprofits’ slate of officers also includes Vice Chair David Brennen, Secretary David Fogg and Treasurer Zachary Moore.

2021 Board Members include:

Richard Hopgood, Chair
Shannon Arvin, Past Board Chair
David Brennen, Vice Chair
Zachary Moore, Treasurer
David Fogg, Secretary
Liz Fowler, President & CEO
John Austin
Jim Blancet
Anne Bolton
Jenna Canning
Bo Cofield
Laura Feltner
Steve Fryman
Amanda Henson
Katie LaMonica
Rhonda Love
Steve Matherly
Nana Mensah
Ellen Miller
Greg Milward
Zachary Murray
Ron Ring
Robert Rosenstein
David Royse

To learn more about Bluegrass Care Navigators, call 855.492.0812 or visit

More posts like this